close× Call Us +27 (0) 11 323 0450

The unitary board of directors of DAWN has an Interim Chairman, Theunis de Bruyn, a non-executive director. As the chairman is not independent, Lou Alberts, the lead independent director, fulfils an underpinning role to the chairman. The board composition reflects an appropriate mix of executive and non-executive directors. It comprises six non-executive directors, with four being independent, and three executive directors. The board includes two black directors, translating into 22% black representation, with gender diversity translating into 11% through one of the directors being a white female.

Meet the Dawn Board

Edwin Hewitt

Chief Executive Officer

Edwin Hewitt (50)

Chief executive officer

Member of the executive committee; member of the audit and risk committee from a risk perspective; a member of the social, ethics and transformation committee
Rene Roos
Edwin was appointed chief restructuring officer at DAWN in February 2017, working with a major bank, where he played a significant role in finalising a recapitalisation programme.

Prior to working at DAWN, Edwin was the chief restructuring officer at cement producer PPC, working with four major banks. He also previously served as chief executive officer of Capital Africa Steel and fabrication and manufacturing division head at Murray & Roberts.

With effect from 1 April 2017, Edwin has been appointed chief executive officer of DAWN.
Date appointed: 1 February 2017

Hanré Bester

Financial Director

Hanré Bester (39)

Rene Roos
Hanré has been with the group for eight years as group financial manager and served as interim financial director during the first half of F2017. Hanré qualified as a CA(SA) and spent six years in tax consulting at PricewaterhouseCoopers Inc before joining the DAWN group
Date appointed: 1 September 2018.

René Roos

Director Chief of staff

René Roos (49)

BCom (Hons); MBA
Rene Roos
René completed her BCom (Hons) degree at UJ in 1989 and her MBA at Wits Business School in 1999. She joined the group in 1997 as HR executive and has been a member of the executive committee since 1999. She was appointed as chairperson of the shared services unit in 2004 and became CEO thereof when it was set up as a group division in 2007. René served on various subsidiary boards of directors over the duration of her employment with DAWN, including Wholesale Housing Supplies, Springset, United Express and recently, Hamilton's. She is currently group chief of staff and serves as strategic business partner for Incledon and Roco.
Date appointed: 14 December 2009

Lou Alberts

Lead independent non-executive director

Lou Alberts (75)

BSc Eng; MBL
Rene Roos
Lou has more than 40 years' experience in technical management as well as in the business field, where he has held various executive directorships. He participated in the unbundling of the Boumat group in 1999, where he was the CEO, and has also served on the board and council of SEIFSA. He consults to the building industry, both locally and internationally. Lou retired as chairman of DAWN on 30 June 2011 and is the lead independent director.
Date appointed: 30 August 2001

George Nakos

Non-executive director

George Nakos (38)

BCom (cum laude); CA(SA); CFA; PLD (Harvard)
Rene Roos
George is currently employed as group corporate finance executive of Imperial Holdings Ltd. From 2000 to 2015, George was employed in various senior corporate finance positions by Investec Bank and global coordinator of the natural resources corporate finance team.

External appointments: Member of the executive committee of Imperial Holdings Ltd.
Date appointed: 12 November 2015

Dinga Mncube

Independent non-executive director
Member of the audit and risk committee

Dinga Mncube (57)

MCom Business Management; MSc Forest Products
Rene Roos
Dinga has over 20 years' executive experience in forestry, timber processing and the paper and pulp industry, has chaired various forestry bodies and has been a board member of Sappi Southern Africa. He played a leading role in the revival of Project Grow, an award-winning enterprise development programme at Sappi, and drove Sappi's R814 million BBBEE deal in 2010.

External appointments: Currently serves as non-executive director of York Timber Holdings Ltd, Rolfes Holdings Ltd and Siyaqhubeka Forests (Pty) Ltd.
Date appointed: 1 May 2014

Akhter Moosa

Independent Non-Executive Director
Chairman of the audit and risk committee and member of the remuneration committee and the nomination committee.

Akhter Moosa (64)

Rene Roos
Akhter completed his BCom at the University of Durban, Westville and qualified as a chartered accountant in 1978. He has extensive experience at board level.

External appointments: Currently serves as a member of the disciplinary committee of the Independent Regulatory Board of Auditors; advisor to the audit committee of SANRAL Ltd; member of the audit and risk committee of the Competition Tribunal; and non-executive director of SAA.
Date appointed: 28 March 2017

Theunis de Bruyn

Non-Executive Interim Chairman

Theunis de Bruyn (49)

Rene Roos
After serving articles at Ernst & Young, Theunis joined Ford SA as assistant treasurer. From there he joined Huysamer Stals stockbroking firm (thereafter sold to ABN AMRO) where he later headed up research. Theunis is the founder and managing director of Calibre Capital (Pty) Ltd and a founding shareholder of RECM & Calibre Ltd, a major shareholder of DAWN. External appointments: Currently serves as non-executive director of RECM & Calibre Ltd, ELB Group Ltd and Sentula Mining Ltd.
Date appointed: 20 July 2017

Charles Boles

Independent non-executive director

Charles Boles (48)

CA(SA); HDip Tax; HDip Company Law; MBA (cum laude)
Rene Roos
Charles was a partner in the corporate finance division of PricewaterhouseCoopers for five years, where after he joined Investec Bank's corporate finance and private equity division. At Investec he was instrumental in the establishment and subsequent listing on the JSE of First SA Food Holdings Ltd. He served as a non-executive director on First SA Food Holdings Ltd's board until its delisting, following a management buy-out led by Ethos Private Equity. Charles founded Titanium Capital, an asset management firm focused on investing in a broad spectrum of South African equities, specialising in small to mid-cap listed equities.
Date appointed: 20 July 2017

Stephen (Steve) Naudé

Non-Executive Director

Stephen (Steve) Naudé (66)

BCom(Wits), CA(SA), MBA(Chicago Booth)
Rene Roos
Steve is a charted accountant and obtained his MBA from the University of Chicago Graduate School of Business. Steve has more than 35 years' experience in corporate finance and investment banking in both the domestic and cross-border markets. Currently Steve is a non-executive director and audit committee chaiperson of a private technology company. He is also member of the institute of Directors of Southern Africa
Date appointed: 1 August 2018